it’s gonna be a long ride

i’m leaving on tour for 4 weeks.

yikes.

i honestly can’t even think too much about it. i just put stetson down for his nap, and as i was walking him back to his room i realized this is the last time i’m going to do that for 30 days. i don’t know how i’m going to do it. i can’t stand the thought of being away from my family. i really do hate it. i don’t know how i will make it four weeks. but i will. it’s the sacrifices you make in life that create something great.

this isn’t just a tour we are going on. these aren’t just songs we play.

i know the music is going to touch people because it touches me. i wouldn’t be playing with john mark if it didn’t. something happens to me every time i hear him sing “the love of god is stronger than the power of death”. i know that people need to experience it. that’s why i do this. that’s why i’m leaving my family for a month. every night i walk on stage i will have made a huge sacrifice. i know that something great is going to happen because of it.

that’s a real sacrifice of praise.

so if you come up to me and i’m moody. or don’t really talk much. or i’m crying. or i’m out of my mind. or i’m hilariously delirious. it’s not because i’m a jerk. it’s because i’ve been on the road a long time. it’s because being on the road is hard. it’s because being away from your family is hard.

having said that; this tour is going to be unreal. nights of epic proportions. you should be there. you should bring someone.

ST PETERS, MISSOURI

LYNWOOD, WASHINGTON

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON

LONGVIEW, WASHINGTON

PORTLAND, OREGON

FOLSOM, CALIFORNIA

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA

REDWOOD CITY, CALIFORNIA

VISALIA, CALIFORNIA

TEMECULA, CALIFORNIA

ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO

AMARILLO, TEXAS

KANSAS CITY, MISOURI

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE

8 comments

  1. Dude. God sees the sacrifice. And yes… John Mark’s music AND your contribution to it are powerful.

    Funny I was just thinking about that song you quoted… Earlier My mind was racing and my body was achy. For some reason those words popped in my head. I felt so soothed… and that everything would be okay.

    Amazing how the word of God can heal us to our bones. Spiritually and literally.

    I love when God uses his people to speak. Even better when he speaks through songs.

    Thanks for this blog! Wish I could be rockin out with you fellas!

  2. I am reminded of David, and the numerous Psalms where he writes about sacrificing with joy and singing praises to the LORD…

    “…At His tabernacle I will sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will sing and make music to the LORD.” Psalm 27:6b

    I still am blown away that David “sacrificed” with JOY! Not an easy thing, definitely something that only God can do for us!

    Thank you for doing this, for going on tour, for being willing to serve Christ in this way.
    The show in Portland tonight was wonderful. 🙂

    Thanks for the “All The Bright Lights” CD by the way, I listened to the first five tracks on the way home, wonderful so far, I can’t wait to listen to it more!

    The link to my radio show blog is on this comment. Check it out, see what you think; leave me a comment in the guestbook if you dig it. 🙂 Lots of free music.

    It was nice meeting you tonight.

    Thanks again,
    Bryan Ruhe

  3. James… you sounded wonderful in Albuquerque the other night. I told you that already, but I wanted to encourage you that the sounds you coax out of the guitar are just as profoundly used by the Spirit as lyrics… but JM’s lyrics aren’t too shabby either. I’m enjoying “All The Bright Lights”. Bless you and your family.

  4. Hey man. Saw you tonight in KS and it was great! Just wanted to say thanks for doing this man. I can only imagine the sacrifices you have to make for this and I just wanted you to know that we truly appreciate it!

  5. Hey James, I saw you play in Redwood City and you guys were amazing. I bought both of your guys albums and had you sign them. Thanks for everything you do. Hope to see you down here again sometime!

Leave a Reply

